#3482 Allow client to re-enroll without first unenrolling
Closed: Fixed None Opened 8 years ago by rcritten.

The use case is a client as a VM.

Kickstart process creates VM and enrolls client.

client dies

Kickstart process deletes VM and enrolls client.

Fail, already enrolled.

There is no entity in the middle that can run host-delete or host-disable.

The desire is to either add a new flag (e.g. --autoclean), or extend the meaning of --force, to have the client detect that it is already enrolled, call host-disable, then enroll.

It is expected to only work when doing a delegated enrollment. OTP will not work.


The important point is that this assumes that and would work only if the user who is running the command in kickstart has sufficient privilege to do the host delete/disable/add operation anyway.

Any chance we will see this backported to the rhel6 version?

According to the flags in the associated Bugzilla it is targeted for RHEL 6.5.

Metadata Update from @rcritten:
- Issue assigned to tbabej
- Issue set to the milestone: FreeIPA 3.2 - 2013/03

4 years ago

Login to comment on this ticket.

Metadata