#521 [openh264] openh264 crashes for all videos | rhbz#2008803
Closed 2 months ago by blockerbot. Opened 3 months ago by blockerbot.

Bug details: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2008803
Information from BlockerBugs App:
2008803

Current vote summary

Commented but haven't voted yet: coremodule

The votes have been last counted at 2021-10-11 19:04 UTC and the last processed comment was #comment-757286

To learn how to vote, see:
https://pagure.io/fedora-qa/blocker-review
A quick example: BetaBlocker +1 (where the tracker name is one of BetaBlocker/FinalBlocker/BetaFE/FinalFE/0Day/PreviousRelease and the vote is one of +1/0/-1)


0Day +1

Playing videos is basic functionality. We can't have Firefox crashing whenever the user tries to play a video. That said, this does not have to be fixed on the GA images because this package is not part of the GA, it gets pulled in via the first Firefox update.

I am waiting for the person to return from PTO, so...

0Day +1

0Day +1

I'm not thrilled that we don't have a backup contact at Cisco, but that's a matter for later.

I am ok with the 0day update, but have you tried that page? For me, all videos are actually working, so I am not sure this is actually a confirmed issue ... ?

I am ok with the 0day update, but have you tried that page? For me, all videos are actually working, so I am not sure this is actually a confirmed issue ... ?

I haven't, because I don't use Firefox. I just took the bug report at face value. If we can't reproduce, then we may need to reconsider.

I went to this test page he pointed and all videos play just right. I pointed my hardware and setting on the ticket.

I went to this test page he pointed and all videos play just right. I pointed my hardware and setting on the ticket.

I just tested this and I see a bunch of Firefox plugin-container crashes and the first video on the test page (with only MP4 source) fails to play, so I can reproduce. (I'm impressed that Firefox has sandboxed the video playback into a plugin container process instead of crashing the entire web content process. We're not even considering doing that in WebKit!)

You might not notice that it's crashing because ABRT is crashing too (there is another blocker bug to fix that) and so you don't see notifications for the crash reports. But that will be fixed soon. If you look in coredumpctl, the crashes should be there.

Please also confirm that you have mozilla-openh264 installed: rpm -qi mozilla-openh264. It should be there, but it's possible it might be missing if something weird has happened.

Also please make sure you don't have codecs from rpmfusion installed, since those could get used instead.

Also please make sure you don't have codecs from rpmfusion installed, since those could get used instead.

Indeed I have it (gstreamer1-plugin-openh264-1.18.2-1.fc35.x86_64) and Firefox is using this, so I must test again without it.

Ops, but searching here, this package is from fedora cisco openh264 repo too, not rpmfusion

Firefox doesn't use GStreamer. It uses openh264 via mozilla-openh264, both from Cisco's repo.

Yeah, I tested it on a VM, without any rpmfusion package, and it behaves just like @catanzaro describes.

AGREED Accepted0Day

Discussed during the 2021-10-11 blocker review meeting: [0]

The decision to classify this bug as both an "Accepted0Day" was made by ticket vote of +8 (was not cleared before meeting due to blockerbugs webUI limitation).

[0] https://meetbot.fedoraproject.org/fedora-blocker-review/2021-10-11/f35-blocker-review.2021-10-11-16.00.txt

The following votes have been closed:

Metadata Update from @blockerbot:
- Issue status updated to: Closed (was: Open)

2 months ago

Release F35 is no longer tracked by BlockerBugs, closing this ticket.

Login to comment on this ticket.

Metadata