#1961 bastion.fedoraproject.org listed on Blacklist Server ix.dnsbl.manitu.net
Closed: Fixed None Opened 12 years ago by jsimon.

= phenomenon =
Mailrelays who uses ix.dnsbl.manitu.net as blacklist - which is very often used in Germany - are blocking Mails from (bastion.fedoraproject.org)

Diagnostic-Code: smtp; 554 5.7.1 Service unavailable; Client host
[] blocked using ix.dnsbl.manitu.net; Spam sent to the
mailhost relay.heise.de was detected by NiX Spam at Mon, 01 Feb 2010
07:38:59 +0100, see

this means several german contributors do not get emails sent to their
<username at fedoraproject.org> address

= reason =
the Fedora Mailserver sends Mails considered as Spam to the spamtrap from heise.de

Same here:

Feb 1 10:51:45 hurricane sendmail[9528]: o119pgns009528: Milter: to=<[...]>, reject=553 5.3.0 Message blocked; see: http://www.dnsbl.manitu.net/lookup.php?value=

I've started the IP removal process at the DNSBL. We (Fedora Infrastructure) should figure out, which e-mail we sent to the spamtrap/honeypot of Heise as Manitu is a serious blacklist. I've also requested the e-mail(s) which caused our blacklisting.

Date: Mon, 1 Feb 2010 13:36:31 +0100
From: Support NiX Spam
To: Robert Scheck
Subject: Re: DNSBL-Austragung via Webseite


there is no need on your side to solve the issue. It was a false
negative, that can unfortunately happen from time to time. As we
handle Millions of mails per day I think it is a good rate to have
around 2 false negatives per week.
But to be sure the IP is currently set on the whitelist and will not
trigger a blacklisting anymore. Beware that we manually kick you from
the whitelist if your mails at our spam traps exceed a certain amount.
So you can close the ticket.

best regards,

Marcel Lohmann

Thanks for looking into this. Closing ticket.

Login to comment on this ticket.