#44 Manual Hub Archiving Feature
Opened 6 years ago by duffy. Modified 4 years ago

Feature Overview

This feature enables hub owners/admins to archive a hub that is no longer going to be used. Example use cases of how this might be used in practice:

  • A Fedora team is dissolved and decides to archive their team hub and start a new one (for example, when the Fedora Board was dissolved and the Fedora Council was formed.)
  • A project hub for a project that a group of people were working on could be archived when the team finishes the project, if it's not an ongoing/forever project. (For example, the project to develop logos for Fedora.next. Once the logos were done.... well, they were done. :) )

This feature has 3 components in terms of the UI:

  • An item in the admin menu for a hub, "Archive Hub"
  • A confirmation dialog that the admin wants to archive the hub
  • A sticky card at the top of archived hubs to indicate that they are archived.

More details on each component below.


Admin Menu Item

manual-archive_menu.png

There is an admin menu in the upper right corner of the banner for a hub visible to those who are logged in as admins/group owners. Implementing this feature will involve adding an "Archive Option" item to this menu as shown in the mockup above.

Admin Menu Item

manual-archive_menu.png

There is an admin menu in the upper right corner of the banner for a hub visible to those who are logged in as admins/group owners. Implementing this feature will involve adding an "Archive Option" item to this menu as shown in the mockup above.

Archive Confirmation Dialog

manualarchive_confirm.png

This dialog is displayed when the admin chooses the "Archive Hub" option from the hub admin menu. Cancel drops them back to the hub. Confirm archives the hub.

Archive Confirmation Dialog

manualarchive_confirm.png

This dialog is displayed when the admin chooses the "Archive Hub" option from the hub admin menu. Cancel drops them back to the hub. Confirm archives the hub.

Sticky Card

manual-archive_sticky.png

The red sticky card shown at the top of the hub in the mockup shows what the archived hub sticky should look like / read. The point here is if a user stumbles upon an archived hub, they can tell it's archived.

Sticky Card

manual-archive_sticky.png

The red sticky card shown at the top of the hub in the mockup shows what the archived hub sticky should look like / read. The point here is if a user stumbles upon an archived hub, they can tell it's archived.

Effects of Archiving

  • Archived hubs will no longer log content from the streams they are connected to.
  • Archived hubs will still display any activity that occurred on the hub up until the point the hub was archived.
  • An archived hub can remain in users bookmark bar if they have it bookmarked, but should appear gray and in italics.
  • Group owners/admins of archived hubs can still remain group owners/admins. They will have the ability to 'Activate' the hub again (an item in the admin menu that appears once a hub is archived) at a later date.
  • Recurring meeting reminders are disabled for archived hubs. can yo
  • No notifications to subscriber / follower / member streams occur once a hub has been archived until the hub is reactivated.

Login to comment on this ticket.

Metadata
Attachments 6